I knew it.

By Rhett Wilkinson

Aggie BluePrint staff writer

There’s been this big hoopla about a woman praying in a General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints because it apparently never has happened before. An initiative called “Let Women Pray” involved hundreds of letters sent to the church’s headquarters in Salt Lake City, comparing their plight to one given by women of Israel in the Old Testament to Moses. The Salt Lake Tribune broke the story less than 90 minutes ago that a woman will indeed pray in the church’s semiannual conference in early April.

Here’s my frustration (and it doesn’t have anything to do with any concerns about a woman praying… to that, huzzah!). I knew about this woman-praying-in-General-Conference stuff back in January, when I was still working as an intern for the Deseret News. I overheard the paper’s religion editor say he believed it would happen after talking with representatives from LDS Public Affairs.

Now, I certainly wasn’t going to say anything as long as I was still working at the newspaper. But then my internship was canceled in mid-January after my superviser learned I was doing a private academic analysis of the publication with Utah State University religious studies professor Philip Barlow. It was about a possible paradox concerning the newspaper’s conservative editorial slant, though its owner, the LDS Church, periodically affirms its “political neutrality.”  (A study that was meant only for academic credit, as I have done with other internships.)  

I wanted to go viral with the exciting news myself, but was waiting until we got closer to conference, when those outside the circles following the “Let Women Pray” initiative so far might be paying more attention.

Guess I waited to long.ImageThis idea is being further progressed by a woman apparently slated to pray in the LDS Church’s semiannual General Conference in early April. Too bad I didn’t report the news earlier, after I found out and didn’t feel an obligation to the newspaper I was working for any more. (Photo credit Facebook.com)

Leave a Comment

